Skip to main content
Due to road construction until 11/30/20, Soda Cap Route 1 will detour as follows: Starting outbound from Assembly St to Right on Laurel Street to Right on Marion to Right on Taylor to Left on Main Street, then Continue regular route. TransLoc is not available. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. A new system will be available in the next 30-60 days. UofSC Transit Begins Service on September 1, 2020. See Whats New For Details. Attention DART Passengers: Effective July 1, My Transit Manager is suspended. A new passenger notification system will be implemented in 90 days. We apologize for any inconvenience. Beginning Monday, June 15, Face Coverings or Masks Must Be Worn When Riding Any The COMET Bus or While Accessing Any The COMET Facility. The COMET will Operate on an Enhanced Saturday Schedule Beginning Wednesday, May 20. Details in What’s New. Stay Safe! Please Wash Your Hands And If Sick Stay Home! Details On What The COMET Is Doing To Combat COVID-19 Is Available In What’s New!
The Comet
The Comet

What’s New


posted by Pamela Bynoe-Reed
September 16, 2020

(September 16, 2020) Columbia, SC – The Central Midlands Regional Transit Authority (The COMET) announces the election of new officers to its Board of Directors. The new officers were elected at the August 2020 meeting.

    Col. (R) Roger Leaks, Jr. is the newly elected board Chair. He succeeds Ron Anderson, who served a term of two years in this capacity. Leaks was appointed to the board by Richland County Council in 2016 and has served as chair of the Service Committee during his tenure. He is an independent businessman and has served on various boards and commissions. These include, the State Elections Commission (past Vice Chair), the SC State Health and Environmental Control Board (past board Secretary), and the Central Midlands Regional Council of Governments (past Chair).


    Derrick Huggins is the newly elected board Vice Chair. He has been involved with the Central Midlands Regional Transit Authority since 2011 and was appointed by the City of Columbia. He is currently the Vice President of Facilities and Transportation at the University of South Carolina.


    Andy Smith has served on the board since early 2016 as the appointee from the City of Forest Acres. This is his second term as board Treasurer. He previously served as board secretary. In addition to his role as Assistant City Administrator/Finance Director for the City of Forest Acres, he also serves as Corporate Treasurer for the Orthodox Church in America.


    Allison Terracio is the newly elected board Secretary. She is in her first year of service on The COMET Board of Directors. Terracio represents Richland County and is a member of Richland County Council serving District 5, which includes the neighborhoods of Historic Waverly, Edgewood, Shandon, Rosewood, Five Points, the Vista, St. Andrews, and the campuses of the University of South Carolina, Allen University and Benedict College.


    Lill Mood, BSN, MPH, has served on The COMET Board of Directors since 2002 representing Chapin in both voting and advisory appointments and now serves as the Lexington County Council representative. Mood is the current Service Committee Chair, serving in this position for the second time. Mood is also a member of COVID-19, Intermodal, and ED Evaluation Ad Hoc Committees. She served twice on the Operations Contract Procurement Committee and previously served as Board Secretary. Among her other awards and honors, she was awarded SC Alliance for Mobile Infrastructure Urban Board Member of the Year in 2015, served as a member of Central Midlands Council of Governments Rail Advisory Committee, Transportation Chair for Columbia Area League of Women Voters and is a former member of SCDOT Rail Advisory Committee.